Book reviews

I read – The Lido

Hi everyone! I just realised that in my previous book post when I said it’s Wednesday and that’s the perfect day to upload a book review I didn’t really elaborate on that. You may or may not remember, but a while ago I had a little ‘Wednesday Wisdom’ series going on. It was mostly me stating the obvious pieces of advice to myself that I kept forgetting about. Anyway, to summarise – my remark was a little reference to the good old Wednesday Wisdom days. And books are wisdom. So… Yeah. Perfection!


The Lido by Libby Page

Blurb: A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject—and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.

Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she’s assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she’s found communion during her marriage and since George’s death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary’s life.

But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary’s fond memories and sense of community are under threat.

As Kate dives deeper into the lido’s history—with the help of a charming photographer—she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido’s closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

My thoughts: I found Lido to be almost painfully human, if there is such a thing. I think that’s what made it a surprisingly difficult read for me – I went into it thinking it a lighthearted quick read, but it was so realistic that I kept getting distracted and my mind kept wandering. I’d say the first half of the book or so was a bit of a struggle for me to get into, but as the story evolved it got easier for me to get lost in it.

By the time I reached the final page I’d been through the lot with Lido – its funny little quirks made me laugh out loud (yes, I was actually giggling to myself), the more serious parts made me cry (I do seem to cry a lot when reading, but that’s simply what happens when I get lost in a book) and the whole experience could be summed up with ‘heartwarmingly cosy’, I think.

Genres: General Fiction (Adult) , Women’s Fiction

My thanks go to NetGalley and the publisher Orion Publishing Group for giving me this book to read in exchange for an honest review.


Another book closer to catching up to what I’ve been reading with my reviews.

I don’t really have a good outro for this, so I’ll just say that I’ll see you next Wednesday with another book. 

Phew, that could’ve been awkward. Me rambling on and on about nothing just because I don’t know how to finish my post. Glad I managed to avoid that. So… Uhmm.

See you soon!

G.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s